Follow me back to Calas

Most of my summers were spent at a small town beach resort ~ the kind of town maybe a lot of you remember and then again maybe not.  I consider myself first off lucky to have had this experience growing up and looked forward to that first moment when we would pull into our yard and grab our suitcases all the while knowing car had to be unpacked before we could rush up town.  The town was small ~ you didn’t really need a car when everything really was in walking distance ~ parents would make trips to the bigger grocery store outside of town and to the different variety of locally grown road side markets.  After getting everything done that was needed I would grab my bike and head out to explore, to see who was here for the whole summer.  I just love small towns and heading back to my favorite small town in Calas what I have dubbed “Main Street  ~

BlogJ3a

Main Street

Doesn’t that look inviting to you?  All the plants that decorate the store fronts.  The nice wide sidewalk that is perfect for roller skating or riding bikes.  As you look around you can hear birds chirping, water lapping at the boats and just an overall peacefulness start seeping into your being.  Take time to stroll and yes I do mean  stroll down and peer into or even go inside the stores there are quite a few as you can see.  A small clothing boutique that at one time that the clothes were at the height of  fashion, a pharmacy that when you open the door you can almost see a pharmacist making up a local headache powder for someone.  What small town could exist without a bakery ~ smells are divine and the thought of calories goes out the window ~or your local diner that you just know in the afternoon will be a meeting place or hang out for the local teens.  And of course there is a general store that is crammed and filled with a little of this and a little of that ~ such fun to look around.

BlogJ3c

Mercantile Store

Mrs Phyllis Eubanks was there peering into the windows as I stood slightly away as to not bother her.  I did remember my manners and speak cordially but her glance at me was rather wooden am guessing it was my hair and my apparel that was behind that stony glare.  Oh… look at that penny candy machine if only I had of thought to bring my coins with me.  What is that off to the left ~ I see fresh veggies ~ let me get in closer so you can see.

BlogJ3d

Fresh Daily Veggies

They all look so vibrant ~ some great selections that the locals bring in daily  just waiting to be scooped up and taken home.  But ut oh I do see a disaster in the making.  Look real close to the right on that table *lowers my voice to a whisper* see those apples that are dipped in caramel sitting on the plate well *glancing quickly around to make sure Truck or Ty are not lurking about.  Psst both of them have this wicked sense of humor and for your sake DO NOT EAT THEM!!!  Let that be the only warning about the apples at Calas or I can only say it takes just  one tiny bite and you will wished that you listened to me ~ the results are not pretty to watch or experience and if you come with a special someone you will want to crawl into a deep deep hole from utter embarrassment.

Grabs your hand and moves you along continuing on our walk down Main Street ~ there is a new addition that I am excited to see ~ I do not want to diddle around too much even though seeing the outdoor patio beckons us where we can sit and order a meal and even dance if we choose~the flowers have all bloomed making such a pleasant walk you just seemed to slow down your pace to enjoy.

BlogJ3h

While you are here remember not to forget to grab a bike and ride around town but be careful or you can end up in a bush or worse the water.  See what a cute bike it matches my shoes along with the rest of my outfit ~ and yes will give you details what am wearing.  Behind me is the diner I mentioned earlier where you also can sit out and enjoy a snack or cup of coffee.  Seeing we really are on a mission lets not stop ~ hey! I  think that is it up ahead ~ follow me up these stairs ~ watch your step …

BlogJ3f

Terrace at the Florist Shoppe

Another pretty area with more tables and chairs to sit at and enjoy the view ~ I also suggest while you are sitting there to listen to the stream that Truck provides ~ it is not one genre but a really well thought out collection of tunes.

 

BlogJ3j

Florist

YAY we made it to the newest addition to Main Street ~ Calas Florist Shoppe ~ having known the skills of both Ty and Truck lets not waste time outside ~ lets get ourselves in there to see what goodies they have created for us to enjoy.

 

BlogJ3L

Pulling open the door the fragrance of fresh cut flowers plays on your sense of smell ~ your eyes then take in the huge array of colors from all the flowers ~ as this is a very special store unlike the others in Calas you are able to purchase anything in the shoppe ~ from cut flowers in hand crafted vases to those rich bouquets of flowers in the pretty colored cellophane wrapping ~ yes let me get closer to let you look.

 

BlogJ3M

Yes please do lean in nice and close to take a whiff of those amazing peach roses ~ mmmm fragrant  fresh gorgeous roses that whoever does get these will be very appreciative with this gift or maybe you will want to keep them all for yourself.  A good variety of colors to choose from as well and look so pretty.

 

 

BlogJ3k

Behind me are different arrangement of flowers and vases to choose from as well ~ Truck and Ty really outdid themselves with these arrangements and I wish that when you come back to Calas for one of your many visits that you will head to the Florist Shop to see this for yourselves ~ one last note regarding the florist shop is that all sales from the flowers and arrangements go to support Calas ~ you get a gorgeous gift of flowers and are also helping to keep Calas here in Second Life ~ win for everyone 🙂

 

BlogJ3

Tired

Did you enjoy your time today with me ~ there is still so much to see that I am going to rest my feet for a bit but you are more than welcome to go back and really lurk about ~ I will just sit here relaxing if you do not mind~ Calas and Main Street is really such a beautiful place that I have never once been bored or made it just a quick visit ~ the town pulls you in with so many delightful things to see and experience ~ until next time ~ enjoy ~

Your SL guide

Starr

Credits go to

Skin – al vulo

Hair – D!va

Outfit – FashionNatic – Summer Agave ~ available on MP

Poses – Image Essentials – Body Shot 12

 

Leave a Reply

